Nepal’s Prime Minister Khadga Prasad Sharma Oli, also known as K.P. Oli, delivers a speech before a confidence vote at the parliament in Kathmandu, Nepal May 10, 2021. REUTERS/Navesh Chitrakar

KP Sharma Oli was sworn in as the Prime Minister of Nepal for the third time on Friday. Oli was reappointed to the post on Thursday, as the opposition parties failed to get the required majority in Parliament to form the new government.

69-year-old Oli was re-appointed as Prime Minister on Thursday night by President Bidya Devi Bhandari. Three days before this, he had lost a confidence vote in a very important development in the House of Representatives.

Earlier, Oli was the Prime Minister from 11 October 2015 to 3 August 2016 and later from 15 February 2018 to 13 May 2021. CPN-UML Chairman Oli was administered the oath of office and secrecy at a function at President Sheetal Niwas on Friday.


After Oli lost the trust vote in the House on Monday, the President gave the opposition parties until 9 pm on Thursday night to prove their majority and present a claim to form the new government

But after meeting with Oli at the last minute, Deuba’s dream of becoming the next Prime Minister was shattered when Madhav Kumar changed Nepal’s stance. Oli will now have to get a vote of confidence in the House within 30 days, failing which an attempt will be made to form a government under Article 76 (5) of the Constitution. CPN-UML headed by Oli is the largest party in the 271-member House of Representatives with 121 seats. Currently, 136 seats are needed to form the government.

If the party fail to make new Government then sitting Prime Minister can recommend the President to dissolve the parliament and announce the date to hold general elections within the next six months.